Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Part time Marathon runner, getting ready for Tokyo Marathon with a target of 2h42m

Part time Marathon runner, getting ready for Tokyo Marathon with a target of 2h42m

#TokyoMarathon2017 2018 #WorldMarathonMajors #BAA #NYCMarathon2015 #Chicago2012 #Berlin2013 #BAA 2012-13-14

Does hard work really pay off? here's my Tokyo Race Report #Tokyo2017RaceReport #Will I be able to hold on my promise #SemiEliteAthlete #Execute #2:42

Publié par Marc Paquet sur 28 Février 2017, 05:44am

February 26th 2017

Location: Tokyo, Japan

Event: Tokyo Marathon

Ahhhh pressure, it can be your biggest allied, but also your worst nightmare. There's 2 ways to react under pressure, one is to thrive, the other to struggle. Pressure has this subtle way to interact with the body and the mind. It plays with your emotions, which in return, interferes with your rationality. More often than less, It usually spirals downwards from there. From those falls are often learned life's most valuable lessons. Pressure builds wisdom. In the marathon distance, pressure inevitably plays a huge role, it is one of the most prevalent cause of a runner hitting the wall. When pressure takes over your race plan, pain and suffering is almost inevitable. Then again, this is easier said than done.

For me, something stupid happened 6 months ago, I had this idea of setting this crazy target of 2h42 for the Marathon. My actual best is 2h48. How could 2h42 be achievable? I am not a fast runner, a little bit heavy for my size, a bit too muscular. My friend runners are always faster than me and they easily perform way below 1h20 on the half-marathon. I have not done less than 1h21m57s. Why would I try 2h42m? This would be lightening speed compared to my actual times. Anything better than 2h48 should suffice. In fact, shaving 6 minutes from a 2h48 pb is quite exaggerated.  

By making a public statement, it made this event more stressful than it should have been. There's no where to hide now, no turning back. I need to be humble and face reality. Every little details would need to be secured to ensure a 2h42. Will I be able to step up and achieve this? 

5h05AM

My alarm was originally set for 5h30AM, however, when my tired eyes slowly opened up, the cellphone on my bedside was displaying 5h05AM. Great, just slept for a whole 8 hours. First important milestone secured.

At that time, Tokyo is still very calm and under this beautiful darkness where the building are showing off with some beautiful lightings. The sun will eventually rise, but before, the sky starts displaying some red-orange colours. The view of the city from the 30th floor is quite inspiring, clear sky. I could not ask for anything more. Talk about a promising start, second milestone secured.

At my last marathon in Melbourne, it was the opposite, you could hear the wind blowing and feel the building moving. 

Upon waking up, I immediately grab an apple, have no idea why (I never do this...) I hate messing up with my routine on Marathon mornings. A coffee is my normal wake up meal.  Race starts at 9h10AM. I want to leave by 7AM, this leaves me with 90 minutes to get ready.

6h17AM 

The beautiful sun rises through Tokyo's sky, it is a beautiful as it could be, this huge red  ball of fire slowly appears. For a few minutes, it will be red, then it will become orange-yellow. (same as Japan's flag).

This can't be true, so far, so good. All is not set yet, these are only 2 of the critical variables needed to  secured. (great night sleep and a cold crisp sunny day under a blue sky.) As the clock is ticking, my stress level keeps increasing, it is starting to get to me. I inspire myself watching some running videos on YouTube and will start putting my running gears on. 

6h50AM

Third favorable condition is met, for all the runners reading this blog, you will understand that hitting the bathroom before race time is critical and if missed could lead to a disaster. Somehow, my body responds positively to this.

7h00AM

Time to leave. Once outside the building, the cold temperature is a little bit surprising, very cold in fact, however, great running conditions, but cold, and with some wind. The walk to the Subway Station is approximately 10-15 minutes.

Once in the train, I close my eyes, somehow I'm still a bit lethargic from this long night sleep, I rehearse my running plan, I re-do my maths over and over again. 3min53s pace to start, 1h22 at halfway point, accelerating to 3min47s pace for the second half. Be strong, be resilient, be confident, enjoy the moment and never, ever think of quitting.

 

View of Tokyo early Sunday morning, my running gears, my targeted pace and my contemplation before rising up to the momentView of Tokyo early Sunday morning, my running gears, my targeted pace and my contemplation before rising up to the moment
View of Tokyo early Sunday morning, my running gears, my targeted pace and my contemplation before rising up to the momentView of Tokyo early Sunday morning, my running gears, my targeted pace and my contemplation before rising up to the moment
View of Tokyo early Sunday morning, my running gears, my targeted pace and my contemplation before rising up to the momentView of Tokyo early Sunday morning, my running gears, my targeted pace and my contemplation before rising up to the moment

View of Tokyo early Sunday morning, my running gears, my targeted pace and my contemplation before rising up to the moment

7h45AM

As I arrive on site, I need to make my way to the start line. All Major Marathons are quite crowded. Tokyo is no different with 36000+ runners participating in the event.  At any marathon, there's this incredible feeling of excitement, shared by all runners. We are all the same, cherishing the moment, being nervous, excited, scared, proud and anxious and perhaps relieved to have finally reach the start line. 

While walking along thousands of runners, I keep looking at the blue sky and keep repeating to myself, this is your day, this is your moment. Again, as I'm a bit lethargic still, I can't resist the urge to grab a coffee, looking for an espresso shot, but can't find the right coffee store. I will settle for a McDonald's coffee, will drink a few sips to give me this idea that the caffeine will do it's job.

8h03AM

The queue (or crowd) to reach Gate 2 starting block is very packed, we were informed by race organisation to be inside the gates by 8h15AM, I will just make my way in time. I'm still heavily dressed as I want to avoid losing any energy trying to fight the cold. Tokyo is well organized and I easily find where to leave my replacement clothing.  Once my bag is dropped, it is only me, all by myself. No more wallet, no more id, no more phone. If I want to make it back home safe, I need to reach the finish line...period. 

 

8h20AM 

I walk up to the A corral and try to get myself as close as possible to the front of the pack. Surrounded by international semi-athletes, I don't feel I belong with them. Those Japanese runners really have the looks of great runners (and they are). I get a decent spot, perhaps 10-15 rows behind the start line. It's cold, we are standing there, I'm well dressed, but not everyone is. I can see many runners shivering, trying desperately to heat themselves up. I elect to sit down, again, to avoid losing precious energy. A good crowd is slowly filling the reserved stands.  The clock is not moving fast and the wait is long. We all want to run. Again, I try to realise where I am and to enjoy the moment (which I do). I rehearse my running plan again that everything is on my side to hit the target. 

9h00 

Finally, the wheelchair athletes launch their race. 10 minutes to go. The elites are called in. My friend Wilson Kipsang is joining me...or obviously the other way around. It will be our third marathon together. In Berlin 2013, he was able to beat me :)), but needed a world record to do so. Then in New York 2015, he also had a better time than me. Today, it would be difficult to beat him, as he is trying to go for the world record.  (Currently held by Kimetto (Berlin 2014)).

 

 

 

The start of the race, I am on the left side, 15-20 rows back.

The start of the race, I am on the left side, 15-20 rows back.

9h10 AM

1-5k Split

After the inspiring Japanese National anthem, we are given green light to start. A race start is always the same, hectic, people running for their life in the first few meters. My goal is to focus on my pace. It will be impossible in the first few km's...too many runners, I have to keep focusing on where I'm going and need to avoid any sprained ankle by stepping on something. Way before hitting the first K post, my Garmin clocks the first k, in 3min14s, this can't be, too fast.  Quickly, I realize the sky-scrappers are playing game with my Garmin. Today, I will have to forget the watch. 

With no watch to help, at every marker, I try to validate my speed, pace and timing. First 5k seems very slow, I know the terrain was mostly descending. I was hoping for an 18 mins 5k, instead, it will be 19min24s. This is the exact 3min53s pace needed to start.

I worry a little bit as I find the first 5k not that easy, also, I know I will have to speed up later in the race, which will be challenging as I will be more fatigued. 

19min24s ( Pace: 3min53s)

6-10k Split

I try to keep the same pace for the next 5k, I constantly do maths and projections in my head. I tell myself, only 7 more splits of 5k's to go. The sun is quite warm while the air is quite cool. When under shades, body temperature goes slightly down. Can't ask for a better scenario. I want to hit the 10k mark under 39 minutes. I push hard and am able to clock the second 5k in 19min14s. The race clock shows 38min51s, great news, I know I have a few seconds ahead of the race clock. At that point, I know I am on target for the first half goal of 1h22. This last 5k was run through Imperial Palace and reaches Tokyo Station. I do not put too much focus on sightseeing. My heart rate is already extremely elevated. Tokyo Marathon already has a few casualties, perhaps some runners that started too fast. I hope I will not cramp out, I already can feel some muscle pain in my legs, lactic acid buildup has started....

19min14s (Pace: 3min50s)

38min38s ( Pace: 3min51s)

11-15k Split

I really want to hit the 15k marker at 58 minutes, I accelerate the pace and with an ascent in km 15, I miss my target. Clock shows 58m19s, my heart rate is very high, and with 27km to go, I need to lower it down, I can't maintain this level of effort. The wind hypocrisy is not fun, as it is sometimes appearing and slowing us down. 

19min28s (Pace: 3min54s)

58min06s (Pace: 3min52s)

16-20k Split

The next 5k will be run under favorable wind and quite flat. Timing couldn't be better, I need to lower my heart rate, I have been in the red zone way too early and way too long. This is not looking good and the lactic acid build up is making it's way in my calves, quads and upper back. I am really worried. I repeat to myself, this is the best chance for a pb. No time to quit. But I also know that I've not reached the halfway mark. I'm in half-marathon pb timing. Will I be able to sustain...?

19min22s (Pace: 3min53)

1hr17m28s ( Pace: 3min52s)

20-21k Split

Reaching the halfway point is crucial, this means there's less than half to go, this means, I need to push myself to do so. I desperately want to beat 1h22m. I know, I will not be able to clock 1h20m in the second half, already hurting, already in high heart rate zone. I really think, I don't have all the necessary energy.  Minds starts playing game. try to get you to quit. I am fighting for not letting this happening.

21k Split ( 1h21m47s) **** My new PB on the Half-Marathon ***** 

1h21m47s (Pace: 3min52s)

The fist half is done, under target. Great...now, here's the situation, I pride myself in running negative split marathons, I have to deliver.  I need to go faster for another 21k. My body keeps sending signals to my mind, begging me to slow down. I respond by upping the speed. I have no margin left, without a serious acceleration, I will not meet my goal. 

21-25k Split 

The 5k stretch from 20 to 25 is ran in the wind, though it is not a very strong wind, it is a bad start for the faster 2nd half. From previous past experience, I'm hesitating to go for it, keeping speed is not a problem, however, it will tax the quads, hamstrings and calves. This could later bite me as they tend to cramp after too much lactic acid buildup. I spend long minutes thinking about the best plan, I calmly remind myself that, this is THE moment, all conditions are perfect, readiness level is perfect. I decide to go for it. Now, the key question, will I hit the wall before reaching 42.2k? 

19min26s (Pace: 3min53s)

1h36m54s (Pace: 3min52s)

25-30k Split

Woah, this is not good, not good at all. Now, I've just digged myself a hole. I know, I do not have much time left. I am not happy and am starting to think I will not hit 2h42. Actually, the way I see this, with 3x5k's to go, I need some serious speed. All 3 5k split need to hit the lower 19's. And my body does not like the idea of speeding up, it goes against all my vital signals. It does not matter, I have to do it.

Once reaching the 27k marker, I am left with 15k. This is the distance I cover on my tempo runs. Unfortunately while training, I failed all my 15k tempo runs. Staying with the car comparison, on all 3 trials, I had engine overheating issues. Therefore, I have no solid comparison to rely on.

Reaching the 30k marker, The leader of the race is on the other side on his way back, I can easily recognize bib #1, Wilson Kipsang. He is at the 40th km, time on clock shows around 1h56. It will be difficult for him to break the world record. He will need two very fast km and the last remaining  200m.

As for me, right on, a 19m10s 5k, my fastest of the race so far, how 'bout stepping up when needed. Very happy. This is a huge boost. A confidence builder. I have only 12k's to go.

19min10s (Pace: 3min50s)

1h56m04s (Pace: 3min52s)

30-35k Split

When hitting the 30k, there's invisible signs that warns runners, Wall Ahead, please be careful. Entering the wall section is one of the scariest portion of the race, with 12k's to go, there's no more gas station and the meter shows low fuel. The last thing you want is to have the red empty tank signal. I wanted badly to hit the 30k under 56min00, I would then be able to reach 31k in less than 2 hours. This is significant, with 11k to go, I know I can do 42 minutes or so. You add both of them up and it totals 2h42++, then again, there's 200 more meters. You have to add around 1 minute. The next 5k is heading south, the wind is in our back. This would be a two carriage-way split. While heading to the 35k marker, you can see the elites heading back to the 40th marker. 

Now, I am scared, I make sure to grab some Pocari Sweet and water, this is not the time to hit the wall. While trying to go fast, I try to be cautious. My heart rate is extremely high and the muscle pain is all over my body. I have never experienced such pain while running. I know this is not a good sign. What if I hit the wall, so close to get my 2h42 and yet so close to the wall. I need a fast split. In this stretch, I will pass many, many runners. They unfortunately hit the wall. Race is not over for them, but it will surely be painful.

19min15s (Pace: 3min51s) 

2h15m19s (Pace: 3min52s)

The u-turn is brutal, luckily, I do not have any runners besides me at this time so I can enjoy the radius I want. The u-turn slows you down and kills the pace, re-accelerating demands lots of energy, again, every single ounce of energy has to be well managed and preserved. With tailwind, I try to follow some runners, but we are not that many, and most of them have slowed down. There's also many ascent and descent, nothing significant, however another pace killer. A bit like driving in traffic, more gas is consumed. At the 37k marker, I can clearly see the red light on the dashboard. I am hurting, and I still need to speed up.

Reaching the 40k is a blessing, no more walls possible, I can reach that line. My PB (personal best) is in the bag, but the 2h42 mark, still unsure. I need to keep same speed and even go faster.

19min11s (Pace: 3min51s)

2h34m30s (Pace: 3min52s)

I just need to reach home, 2km should be done in less than 8 minutes, this will bring me to 2h42+. It is so close, I can't rely on the last meters to sprint, my quads are torching pain, they can't propelled me faster. Running on two blown tires does not help. I'm such in pain, I can't see anything, only thing I think of is: keep the form. (See picture)

Being so close, I can feel it, I can almost touch it, and can also...hit the wall. The mental work is very key at this moment, I repeat to myself, only 10 minutes of pain, easy, you can handle this, but the mind keeps letting me know I should stop. It is a fierce battle. I'm in the zone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At 41st km. Focus, focus, focus!

At 41st km. Focus, focus, focus!

So this finish line, where is it, at the 42k marker, we are about to turn left. I need to see the finish line arch. I need something to hold on, I hear nothing, see no one.  Only focus is to reach the line.  

I finally see on the digital display 2h42m05s, It is achievable. Again, no time for joy, no time for emotion. I know I can do it, I also know I can explode at any time. Just looking around seems to burn down some energy. I see nothing, just this clock, with every second going so fast. I know my official timing is faster than the clock. but by how much? This is the moment. Doing what I said I would do, 6 months earlier. Finally, I will reach the line, I know it is under 2h43m, but barely. I did it, yes I did it. 

I don't know it yet, but the second half was my new half-marathon PB, the previous one stood for 1h21s....Also, my new PB on the marathon. The pains disappears, the emotions run wild, can't put words on how proud I am. All those sacrifices are suddenly forgotten. 

2nd Half 1h20m56s (Pace 3min50s) **** New PB ****

42.2k 2h42m43s (Pace 3min51s) **** New PB ****

 

 

Does hard work really pay off? here's my Tokyo Race Report #Tokyo2017RaceReport #Will I be able to hold on my promise  #SemiEliteAthlete #Execute #2:42Does hard work really pay off? here's my Tokyo Race Report #Tokyo2017RaceReport #Will I be able to hold on my promise  #SemiEliteAthlete #Execute #2:42

The long walk after the race is unique. Pain immediately sets in, stiff calves, quads and hamstring. Race volunteers are requesting you to move along. I do, it is still clear blue sky, I feel all the weight of the world is off my shoulders. I had set a very aggressive goal and went public with it, weeks before the event. 

After the raceAfter the raceAfter the race

After the race

Perfect day in beautiful Japan, achieving this unbelievable target. I find myself at the Tokyo Train station and witness these huge guys, you guess it, Sumo wrestlers. How great can a day be?

My celebration was quite awesome afterwards, but it will not be documented in this blog.

 

Japanese Sumo wrestlerJapanese Sumo wrestler
Japanese Sumo wrestlerJapanese Sumo wrestler

Japanese Sumo wrestler

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :